Wisconsin 4-H Foundation Scholarships

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

The Wisconsin 4-H Foundation is proud to announce this year’s scholarship recipients. This year was another extremely competitive year, with only the top 5% of all applicants receiving scholarships. Scholarships are awarded through company and individual endowed funds by supporters who share a passion for 4-H and the leadership and life skills it teaches.

This year’s scholarship winners are:

Harold and Irene Hendrickson Memorial Scholarship
$2,500 scholarship, five awarded

  • Noah Fry of Mauston, Juneau County
  • Marisa Jewell of Redgranite, Waushara County
  • Brian Maki of Washburn, Bayfield County
  • Kathryn Schwartz of Glenbeulah, Sheboygan County
  • Grace Van Driel of Appleton, Outagamie County 

Oscar G. & Mary W. Woelfel Memorial Scholarship
$1,500 scholarship, two awarded; $1,000 scholarship, two awarded

  • Amy Jentges of Port Washington, Ozaukee County ($1,500)
  • Maria Zillges of Larsen, Winnebago County ($1,500)
  • Brianna Meyer of Chilton, Calumet County ($1,000)
  • Amber Seitz of Krakow, Oconto County ($1,000)

Frances & Phyllis Conrad Memorial Scholarship
$1,000 scholarship, two awarded

  • Sophia Meisner of Manitowoc, Manitowoc County
  • Gracie Sime of Gays Mills, Crawford County

T.L. Bewick Memorial Scholarship
$1,500 scholarship, three awarded

  • Elaine Holmes of Grafton, Ozaukee County
  • Isaac Nagel of Hilbert, Calumet County
  • Mary Weisensel of Racine, Racine County 

Culver’s 4-H Scholarship
$1,000 scholarship, two awarded

  • Emily Fechner of La Crosse, La Crosse County
  • Lily Schwartz of Eau Claire, Eau Claire County

Cynthia Hoehne Scholarship Award
$1,000 scholarship, one awarded

  • Shannon Roberts of Racine, Racine County

Elizabeth Salter-Eby Memorial Scholarship
$800 scholarship, one awarded

  • Samantha Berg of Arcadia, Buffalo County

Betty Krueger Memorial Scholarship
$600 scholarship, one awarded

  • Rachel Diehl of Viroqua, Vernon County

Luarta and Mike Soden Family Scholarship ($500)
Herman Boettcher Memorial Scholarship ($100)
$600 total award

  • Julia Lyons of New Auburn, Chippewa County


Look for next year’s opportunity in mid-December. 

The Wisconsin 4-H Foundation will award more than $20,000 in scholarships to outstanding Wisconsin 4-H members and alumni pursuing higher education in 2024.  

Wisconsin 4-H Foundation scholarships are awarded to students based on demonstrated personal growth through 4-H, development and leadership in 4-H, academic performance and future educational goals. 

To be eligible for Wisconsin 4-H Foundation scholarships students must have been a Wisconsin 4-H member for at least three years; should have a grade point average of at least 2.5 on a 4.0 scale, and be enrolled or planning to enroll at a university, college or technical school during the 2024-2025 academic school year.  Scholarship winners from previous years are not eligible to receive a second 4-H Foundation scholarship.

Selection Process

A panel of experienced youth educators will screen the applications and select finalists.  Applications chosen as finalists will be screened by a second panel comprised of 4-H and youth development experts.  The finalist applications will be ranked.  The 4-H Foundation will assign available scholarships to the top-ranking applications based on scholarship criteria (example: scholarships are available for specific geographical areas and project areas).


Applicants who are awarded scholarships will be notified by postal letter and email in May.  This letter will include information about how to access the scholarship.  Scholarship awardees are required to email a photo to the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation and provide a one-page thank you letter outlining 4-H experiences and future plans that the Foundation will send to the scholarship sponsor.  Scholarship recipients and portions of their application materials (including their photo) may be featured in Wisconsin 4-H Foundation materials.


Call or email the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation:

608.262.1597 or info@Wis4HFoundation.org

CLICK HERE for a printable .pdf of 2024’s scholarship application rules.