Applications for 2021 Scholarships Now Being Accepted   


The Wisconsin 4-H Foundation will award more than $15,000 in scholarships to outstanding Wisconsin 4-H members and alumni pursuing higher education in 2020.  To be considered for financial support, applications must be received by the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation via email by Monday, March 15, 2021, 5:00 pm.

Wisconsin 4-H Foundation scholarships are awarded to students based on demonstrated personal growth through 4-H, development and leadership in 4-H, academic performance and future educational goals.

To be eligible for Wisconsin 4-H Foundation scholarships:

  • Students must have been a Wisconsin 4-H member for at least three years;
  • Have a grade point average of at least 2.5 on a 4.0 scale;
  • Be enrolled or planning to enroll at a university, college or technical school during the 2021-2022 academic school year.  Scholarship winners from previous years are not eligible to receive a second 4-H Foundation scholarship.

All applications must adhere to the conventions outlined below.  Any application that does not meet these requirements will not be considered.  All documents must be emailed to the 4-H Foundation as one, two-page PDF.  Word docs or any other cloud/internet shared documents will be NOT be accepted (do NOT use Google Docs, for example).

The application materials represent what youth may be asked to submit when applying for jobs. We encourage applicants to treat this process as if applying for a position. For help with creating cover letters and résumés, applicants should reach out to their club leaders, county educator or a teacher or parent.


Applications must be emailed to  Applications will consist of a résumé and a cover letter.  These two documents must be saved as one, two-paged PDF with page one the cover letter and page two the résumé.

  1. Cover Letter
    1. Applicant’s name and contact information (including county where the applicant is/was a 4-Her) at the top of the page
    2. One page only – do not exceed one page
    3. No less than 3/4–inch margins and using type no smaller than 10 points
    4. Use this document to briefly describe your 4-H experience; to share how 4-H made an impact in your life, and to explain how you will be using lessons learned in 4-H as you move to higher education and into a career.
  2. Résumé
    1. Applicant’s name and contact information (including county where the applicant is/was a 4-Her) at the top of the page
    2. One page only – do not exceed one page
    3. No less than 3/4–inch margins and using type no smaller than 10 points
    4. Suggested résumé headings include: Career Goals, School Experience, Work Experience, 4-H Projects and Activities, Leadership Experience, Activities Outside of 4-H
    5. Include probable school choice and major on your résumé
    6. Include a brief list of 4-H projects and activities that were most influential to you

Cover letter and résumés must be submitted via email as one, two-page PDF; must be named Applicant Last Name Application 2021 (example: Smith Application 2021), and must be attached to the transmittal email.

Résumé/cover letter PDFs must be received by the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation on or before March 15, 2021, 5:00 pm.  Applications received after 5:00 pm, March 15, 2021 (as time stamped in the email), and any USPS mailed applications will not be considered.  Apply early to avoid any confusion.

Selection Process

A panel of experienced youth educators will screen the applications and select finalists.  Applications chosen as finalists will be screened by a second panel comprised of 4-H and youth development experts.  The finalist applications will be ranked.  The 4-H Foundation will assign available scholarships to the top-ranking applications based on scholarship criteria (example: scholarships are available for specific geographical areas and project areas).


Applicants who are awarded scholarships will be notified by postal letter and email in May.  This letter will include information about how to access the scholarship.  Scholarship awardees are required to email a photo to the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation and send a thank-you note to the scholarship sponsor.  Scholarship recipients and portions of their application materials (including their photo) may be featured in Wisconsin 4-H Foundation materials.

Questions?  Call or email the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation:  608.262.1597 or

 2020 Scholarship Recipients

Francis and Phyllis Conrad Memorial Scholarship (2 awarded)

Maggie Conlan of Balsam Lake, Polk County

Meghan Numrich of Neenah, Winnebago County

Oscar G. and Mary M. Woelfel  Memorial Scholarship (5 awarded)

Kevin Kitchen of Augusta, Eau Claire County

Anastasia Poull of Port Washington, Ozaukee County

Tyler Schroepfer of Birnamwood, Langlade County

Cayley Vande Berg of Eldorado, Fond du Lac County

Lily Wagner of Westfield, Marquette  County

T. L. Bewick Scholarship (5 awarded)

Theadora Collins of Arlington, Columbia County

Alec Edstrom of Union Grove, Racine County

MacKenzie Korent of Hudson, St. Croix County

Emma Peterson of Phillips, Price County

Libby Willkomm of West Bend, Washington County

Harold and Irene Hendrickson Memorial Scholarship (2 awarded)

Alyssa Frisch of Portage, Columbia County

Micah Stege of Hartford, Washington County

Elizabeth Salter-Eby Memorial Scholarship (1 awarded)

Nina Wood of Theresa, Washington County

Culver’s 4-H Scholarship Award (2 awarded)

Andrew Beine of Campbellsport, Washington County

Joelle Heller of Waukesha, Waukesha County

Betty Krueger Memorial Scholarship (1 awarded)

Seth Morse of Sheboygan Falls, Sheboygan County